JANNAF AMP Additive Manufacturing for Propulsion Applications TIM Session Areas

The TIM will cover systems development within the seven session areas described below. Additional information concerning these areas or the topics being solicited should be directed to the respective Area Chair.

TIM Session Areas

Areas of interest included in the Call for Presentations are:

Session Area I: Design for Additive Manufacturing

Co-Chair: Will Brandsmeier, NASA/MSFC
Telephone: (256) 544-6703
Email: william.c.brandsmeier@nasa.gov

This session area will discuss the design methodology for additive manufacturing that can radically differ from other manufacturing processes due to the highly controlled nature of the part production and the ability to create shapes unachievable with conventional manufacturing. For example, a part can be optimized for weight by removing all unnecessary material while remaining structurally sound. Optimizing designs to take full advantage of the machines’ capabilities, while developing optimized orientations, supports and other structures for manufacturing, is a key issues that can affect economical part production. Designing to minimize time for production and lower manufacturing costs is also a challenge. This session seeks to address these and related issues of integrating the part design process with additive manufacturing’s new capabilities.

Session Area II: Additive Manufacturing Modeling and Simulation

Co-Chair: Ed Glaessgen, NASA/LaRC
Telephone: (757) 864-8947
Email: e.h.glaessgen@nasa.gov

Co-Chair: Nima Shamsaei, Auburn University
Telephone: (334) 844-4839
Email: shamsaei@auburn.edu

The presentations in this session focus on modeling and simulation of additive manufacturing processes. Potential topics include: Simulation of AM processes to predict residual stresses, microstructure, and/or surface topology; modeling of AM processes to consider the resultant effect of print direction, part orientation, and/or power level; modeling and simulation of support structures; and, the use of modeling and simulation for process and part certification and qualification; as well as other related topics.

Session Area III: Material Development and Mechanical Testing

Co-Chair: David L. Ellis, NASA/GRC
Telephone: (216) 433-8736
Email: david.l.ellis@nasa.gov

Co-Chair: Michael Kirka, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Telephone: (865) 946-3163
Email: kirkamm@ornl.gov

This area focuses on exploring the development of new materials and process parameters for additive manufacturing. Emphasis should be on parameter development, microstructural characterization, physical, thermal, and mechanical property testing leading to robust material properties.

Session Area IV: Additive Manufacturing Techniques & In-situ Monitoring

Co-Chair: Nicholas Mule, Aerojet Rocketdyne
Telephone: (818) 586-3133
Email: nicholas.mule@rocket.com

Co-Chair: John Middendorf, AM Univ Technology Corp.
Email: jmiddendorf@utcdayton.com

This session area addresses development of new or novel additive manufacturing processes, machine best practices, and assessment of in-situ process monitoring techniques. Development of systems capable of in-process sensing and/or control during additive manufacturing will be an essential part of verifying the quality of complex parts. New additive manufacturing processes for metals, polymers, and electronics are being developed that could enable the next phase of the evolution of additive manufacturing. Discussion on technology maturation, novel processes such as hybrid or friction stir systems, and best practices for machine operation is also encouraged.

Session Area V: Post-Processing: Heat Treatment, Surface Finish Modification, NDE

Co-Chair: Owen Hildreth, Arizona State University
Telephone: (480) 965-4912
Email: owen.hildreth@asu.edu

Co-Chair: Judith Schneider, University of AL Huntsville
Telephone: (256) 824-5186
Email: jas0094@uah.edu

After components are built using additive manufacturing techniques, sometimes post build processing and inspection is required. This forum will discuss the various post build processing and finishing techniques. This can include (but is not limited to) heat treatment, stress relief, slurry honing, surface finishing, drilling, milling and welding. Inspection of the additively manufactured hardware is a common issue for additive manufacturing. This technology enables complex geometries that present new challenges in terms of inspection of critical features that are not easily accessed. Presentations on nondestructive examination techniques are encouraged.

Session Area VI: Component and System Testing

Co-Chair: Paul Gradl, NASA/MSFC
Telephone: (256) 544-2455
Email: paul.r.gradl@nasa.gov

Co-Chair: Brian Webb, Aerojet Rocketdyne
Telephone: (818) 586-0858
Email: brian.webb@rocket.com

This session area will discuss various programs and projects where unique components were built to either reduce time and cost, or to produce a novel component that could not have been produced using alternative manufacturing processes. Components that were taken through fabrication and into a test program are desired, although new and innovative parts that were only taken through manufacturing are also encouraged.

Session Area VII: Process Qualification & Flight Certification

Co-Chair: Mohsen Seifi, ASTM International
Telephone: (202) 904-2834
Email: mseifi@astm.org

Co-Chair: Rick Russell, NASA/KSC
Telephone: (321) 861-8618
Email: richard.w.russell@nasa.gov

This session will explore the state of additive manufacturing qualification and certification processes. Specifications developed by government and industry for the qualification of processes and the certification of hardware are crucial for the widespread application of additive manufacturing. The processes codified in these specifications are the key to ensuring that new and innovative technologies, such as AM, meet requirements for flight hardware. Presenters will highlight the accomplishments and challenges in developing, tailoring, applying, and certifying AM technologies from the materials, processes, and quality control perspectives.

In-Space Chemical Propulsion TIM Co-Chairs

Co-Chair: James L. Cannon, NASA/MSFC
Telephone: (256) 544-7072
Email: james.l.cannon@nasa.gov

Co-Chair: Omar Mireles, NASA/MSFC
Telephone: (256) 544-6327
Email: omar.r.mireles@nasa.gov

Co-Chair: Brian West, NASA/MSFC
Telephone: (256) 544-2941
Email: brian.m.west@nasa.gov

Co-Chair: John Vickers, NASA/MSFC
Telephone: (256) 544-3581
Email: john.h.vickers@nasa.gov

Co-Chair: Alison Park, Aerojet Rocketdyne
Telephone: (661) 313-7691
Email: alison.park@rocket.com

Co-Chair: Bob Carter, NASA/GRC
Telephone: (216) 433-6524
Email: robert.carter@nasa.gov

Co-Chair: Monica Jacinto, Aerojet Rocketdyne
Telephone: (818) 586-0402
Email: monica.jacinto@rocket.com

Co-Chair: Clyde ‘Chip’ Jones, NASA MSFC
Telephone: (256) 544-2701
Email: chip.jones@nasa.gov

(TIM) Technical Advisor

Member: Nick Keim, JHU WSE Energetics Research Group
Telephone: (443) 718-5005
Email: nkeim@erg.jhu.edu